The winter of my discontent and runny noses

Image by Ryan McGuire from Gratisography.

Image by Ryan McGuire from Gratisography.

Just when I think it’s safe to get on with life another bug hits the household. This latest one seems to be lingering for a lot longer.

I’ve been making lists of things I need to do, and wishing I could have more time to get more done. But after the third visit to the GP in five days, including a weekend. I’ve reached the point where I realise I’m just going to have to sit back and wait this out.

This got me thinking about an article I read recently about not-so-guilty pleasures. They are those little things that make you smile, a chance to switch off perhaps. Something that gives you that ‘oh this is nice’ feeling. But they are also essential to creating a bit of balance when things are not really very balanced in our lives.

It could be a cup of tea and chocolate biscuit. A little treat I enjoyed a few weeks back after a particularly insane day.

I don’t have a list of daily must do indulgences yet. I don’t think diamonds and a three-book publishing deal count. But I’ll definitely be including opening the kitchen window on a sunny, Brisbane winter morning. It’s the same every morning, glorious and a little breathtaking. That and taking my latest copy of the New York Review of Books out of the plastic wrapper. An intriguing smell of new things to read.

So, I’m now going to have a cup of tea and give it some thought. That could by my first not-so-guilty pleasure.

Leave a Reply

